Circle hooks

Rate this topic

Beachglass Guru

I think we can all agree that all hooks are NOT created equal.  

That said, I've been fishing circle hook for a few years now on and off, but with the new bass regs in place for next season I'd like to get some opinions on what your favorite circle hooks are..

I use gama's on rare occasions, but more often than not I'll reach for an owner mutu or BKK inline circle.. played with the owner reef & rig this year also and liked them.. 

What do you folks prefer? What's you go to and why?

Very interested too. Additionally, what hooks do you think provide good bang for your buck? I like budget hooks. :) 

Maybe that’s why I’m an eagle claw guy...

"It's funny how it's the little things in life that mean the most
Not where you live, what you drive or the price tag on your clothes" -Zac Brown Band

"A leader is someone who keeps their head when everyone else is losing theirs." -Bryant Wright

6 mins ago, coastalfreak said:

Very interested too. Additionally, what hooks do you think provide good bang for your buck? I like budget hooks. :) 

Maybe that’s why I’m an eagle claw guy...

I fish Eagle Claw Circle Sea L 197 mainly because i got a few hundred for pennies each. Mostly 3/0.

While they get the job done they are brittle and they will break on big Drum.

Usually at the beach lip or landing them with max pressure.Have seen it enough to convince me.

Doesn't really bother me on the big fish I am going to release anyway but might bother you.

Also,they rust quickly and must be rinsed after each use.

14 mins ago, olvart said:

I fish Eagle Claw Circle Sea L 197 mainly because i got a few hundred for pennies each. Mostly 3/0.

While they get the job done they are brittle and they will break on big Drum.

Usually at the beach lip or landing them with max pressure.Have seen it enough to convince me.

Doesn't really bother me on the big fish I am going to release anyway but might bother you.