MooseJuice

New Member Intro - Cape Cod

Rate this topic

32 posts in this topic

Hey all,

I just wanted introduce myself as a new member on the forum. I am an experienced trout fly fisherman, having spent the last 10 years fishing year-round in Colorado and Wyoming. I was born and raised on the south coast of MA, and am returning to the area permanently after the new year. While I still intend to trout fish in New England, I am going to be doing a lot of saltwater fly fishing in the Cape Cod area. I am very new to fly fishing the salt and am really excited to learn from all of you and this forum.

I picked up a 9' 9wt and a 9' 10wt and am doing a lot of studying on how to target stripers, blues and albies on the fly. I will mostly be fishing on foot, as I do not have a boat.

Anyway, thanks for having me on the forum and I look forward to learning with you all!

-John

Welcome aboard :)  Ninety five percent of what you need to know to catch bass on flies the trout have already taught you :read: When they are eating shrimp or spearing that are drifting in the current everything you already learned about dead drifting nymphs or dries comes into play. When they are ambushing baitfish disoriented but the waves and currents everything you learned about fishing streamers comes into play :)

With stripers about the single most important thing is that you need to convince them that they have the element of surprise. Trout will chase down a fast moving streamer like a cat chasing a mouse...most time bass won’t bother :)

TimS

I've seen it all over the years, when clients switch from fresh to the brine.

My best advice, get rid of the nymph mentality of short twitches and pauses.

Pauses are good in the salt, but make those strips as long as possible.

That's the hardest concept for some to overcome.

Edited by Capt.Castafly