Belmo

Should I Hook Up My Old Hi-Fi

Rate this topic

115 posts in this topic

I've been clearing crap out of my basement -- look for some giveaway stuff here soon :howdy: -- and one of the last things I'm supposed to do is hook up the old Kenwood stereo. It's a receiver, tape deck, DVD player, and 200-CD changer. I've had the damn things since the early 1990s, and have probably 500 CDs and a bunch of tapes (I started listening to music right when CDs were coming out, and never got into vinyl). 

I've been intending to hook it up for a couple of years, but now that I'm close, I'm thinking.... why? I got Amazon music unlimited, which can play almost every CD I have (the only stuff it can't play is the weird and/or rare stuff, like the EP Mudhoney did with Jimmie Dale Gilmore), and I got a decent speaker to stream the music through. I can save a lot of space getting rid of this crap -- the system itself, as well as the CDs, tapes, and all the rest. 

Should I dump it? Should I keep it? What would you humps do? And why? 

10 mins ago, fish'nmagician said:

you should stick your head in the oven.

thanks in advance.

Are you on the rag? Or has that moran Raider managed to make you go on tilt? 

13 mins ago, Belmo said:

I've been clearing crap out of my basement -- look for some giveaway stuff here soon :howdy: -- and one of the last things I'm supposed to do is hook up the old Kenwood stereo. It's a receiver, tape deck, DVD player, and 200-CD changer. I've had the damn things since the early 1990s, and have probably 500 CDs and a bunch of tapes (I started listening to music right when CDs were coming out, and never got into vinyl).