wasy

Tog

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

I’ve never fished for black fish and I’m wondering if tog are present in the back, specifically in Barnegat Bay?

im not talking about fishing the inlets or close to any inlets but in the bay around structure

2 hours ago, wasy said:

I’ve never fished for black fish and I’m wondering if tog are present in the back, specifically in Barnegat Bay?

im not talking about fishing the inlets or close to any inlets but in the bay around structure

I'm not a tog expert but you better have some very specific structure in mind, not nearly sharp enough to give you the answer you want though but the water is cold in the back and tog are usually picked off rocks, pilings, and reefs. Good luck!

1 min ago, wasy said:

Are green crabs they way to go or can u also jig them?

Tog jigs are still baited with crabs. Greens are fine. 

You can always try others if you can get them. Fiddlers would probably be a regular menu item for backwater blackfish. 

5 hours ago, Kml said:

Tog jigs are still baited with crabs. Greens are fine. 

You can always try others if you can get them. Fiddlers would probably be a regular menu item for backwater blackfish. 

Not trying to be a wise guy, I know a spot with a strong fiddler population and tog. The fiddlers are up on the marsh and really don't see them or their borrows at the waters edge where tog could target them. I'm not well educated on fiddlers just curious how the tog target them. Thanks

Don't know. I do know that they are a bait that guys use for tog. The tackle shop do sell them or at least they used to around here. I haven't looked for them.

Blackfish will eat any crabs as far as I can tell.

I remember back in the 80’s guys fishing the bay right against the sedge banks w/ fiddler crabs did a number on them.,,,,, no structure at all. 

13 hours ago, MTL said: