saltygator

Beginner fly fishing

Rate this topic

7 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to fly fishing and I wanted to get some tips on how I can start fly fishing! I've been fishing for a little over a year now and have had some success in fresh and salt water down here in Florida but still learning a lot. I've always thought fly fishing was pretty cool and I have some time to learn it so I'm going for it. 

First, I need to pick up a rod and reel. I prefer to fish saltwater but unfortunately I'm in college and the closest body of saltwater is over an hour away. BUT lucky for me, there are some nice lakes/ponds around for me to practice that are full of bass and panfish. So for the most part i'll probably start small and just try to catch panfish (and maybe largemouth if I can find them on my campus lake) from shore but I'll still tinker around with saltwater a few times a month when I'm home. Do you guys have any recommendations for rods and reels that will meet this need? Should I just focus on getting a lighter set up to learn since I'm fishing a freshwater lake 70% of the time then upgrade later when I'm ready?

Secondly, do you guys have any particular resources I should look into to learn all about fly fishing? I've watched a handful of YouTube videos on casting and such but that's about it. I'm looking to learn more since I'm clueless about all of this in general.

Thanks in advance for all the help!

36 mins ago, saltygator said:

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to fly fishing and I wanted to get some tips on how I can start fly fishing! I've been fishing for a little over a year now and have had some success in fresh and salt water down here in Florida but still learning a lot. I've always thought fly fishing was pretty cool and I have some time to learn it so I'm going for it.