Dumprdog

Delaware River help

21 posts in this topic

I am a South Jersey resident looking for some help on the Delaware, around the Lambertville area. I own a jet motor and have experience on the Susquehanna but have never fished the Delaware. I would like to know about ramps, and any areas I should worry about concerning running the boat. Are river level gauges available and at what level am I fairly safe to run the big motor. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Randy.

Posted (edited) · Report post

There are ramps at Yardley ( PA side ), Firemans Eddy, Lambertville, Bulls Island, Byram, Kingwood, and Upper Black Eddy ( PA side ). 

Trenton water gauge: 

https://waterdata.usgs.gov/usa/nwis/uv?01463500

Lambertville:

https://waterdata.usgs.gov/nj/nwis/uv/?site_no=01462000&PARAmeter_cd=00065,63160,00060,62614,62615

Can't help you too much on running the motor. I can only tell you at or around 9 feet on the Trenton gauge you can find places that you can walk a crossed the river from NJ to PA. 

Edited by PhilCVG

Thank you for the information. I will be watching the guages. I just wish I lived closer to see exactly what the readings mean relative to actual depth. I have fished the Susquehanna but recently have decided to find places closer to home and the Delaware seems a good choice. Like all rivers it is necessary to fish them to actually learn how they play, like what is the best level as far as running the boat and how the bass react to the current height.  I appreciate the help. Thanks.

Thanks for the offer, I have looked for ways to contact you but haven't found an email address. Apparently there is a 15 post mandate before privileges are bestowed on us newbies. Until then I will be looking for forum subjects to which I can reply. I will be in touch when that happens.

On 11/14/2019 at 10:31 AM, tgrabowski said:

Feel free to contact me in private on help with the Delaware River gauges and what's fishable water.