SnoozeFishing

Anyone interested in a fishing log application?

Rate this topic

60 posts in this topic

I'm thinking about creating a fishing log web application. It would be free. There are no good digital fishing logs out besides Skinners but he uses a Java bases application and doesn't offer support for Mac. I'm a web developer by trade. 

Any specific features you guys would like to see? Anyone in the business want to collab on the project I would be using mostly Rails. 

Analytics of the data would be a big part of the app. 

I'm in data analytics. I know python and i mainly specialize in data libraries. If that is any help, I'd love to be a part of it.  Never used Rails though.

Posted (edited) · Report post

I would be interested. I have a book but I've been lazy about it. I'm a network engineer so I don't think I'm very useful in helping but if you were interested in working where I do (around Philadelphia) as a web developer, let me know. We can shoot the breeze about fishing most of the day. It's a rails shop.

Edited by hurricane1091

Yea I'd use it!  Tide, time, wind, moon, weather stuff would preferably be automatically pulled based on location with ability to edit.  Also a type in field for log obviously. 

I'm going to do it. The backend I can probably do in a week, I'm terrible at design so it will take me a while to put the user experience together.

10 hours ago, hurricane1091 said:

I would be interested. I have a book but I've been lazy about it. I'm a network engineer so I don't think I'm very useful in helping but if you were interested in working where I do (around Philadelphia) as a web developer, let me know. We can shoot the breeze about fishing most of the day. It's a rails shop.

I currently work remotely on contract, if something changes I'll let you know, thanks! I appreciate it.