crashmaster

First build, Possibilities ?

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

I have never built a rod before but I did repair a heaver using rod building epoxy and really enjoyed the process and the challenge. I'm contemplating building a steelhead spinning rod. My current favorite rod (almost 20 yrs old) is a G-Loomis, GL 3, STR1141S, 9'6" ultra-lite, slow action, 4-8 lb, 1/16 to 3/8 oz. I'd like to build a rod of as similar an action as I could but with a length of 10' 6" to 11'. Would it be possible to find blanks to accomplish this ? Any advise from experienced rod builders would be appreciated. JB

Thank you all for your replies, After checking out Northfork Composites, st Crois and others I think my first build will be with  Rodgeeks blank as It doesn't make sense to try to build my first rod with such expensive blanks. I can afford to screw up a $75 blank, not a $200 plus blank. I'll get around to building that special rod after I gain the confidence and skill to get it rite. Tight Lines, JB