BrianZ

Night Time Walleye

24 posts in this topic

Hi, I recently bought an older used 12' SOT from a friend. 

Daytime fishing, no issues, pretty simple straightforward. 

Night time walleye fishing from a  large lake/reservoir. 

Everything at night is inherently a tad more difficult and requires a little extra thought. 

I enjoy the challenge and was looking forward to hearing form anyone that makes a habit out of chasing Wallter from a yak at night. 

Was out sunday morning , fishing by 4am had one on that went over a rock on the backside of the ledge he was sitting on and popped me off. 

looking forward to my next night time outing. 

I have no experience with walleye.  Caught one by chance in the CT River years back but have no idea about techniques.  What do you use and technique? 

depends on conditions (time of year, wind, prevalent bait) 

I am learning the bottom features of this one particular body of water now so i do fair amount of trolling. 

When i find structure that i like i work it over with jig, cranks and suspending stick baits. 

I just bought a collapsible bait bucket so i plan on adding live bait in to the mix. 

Most of my walleye have been taken on jigs but stickbaits account for a good number also. 

10 mins ago, BrianZ said:

depends on conditions (time of year, wind, prevalent bait)

Is it mostly a night bite this time of year?

I've been looking into walleye fishing...from what I see not too dissimilar from the open water smallies I've been chasing the past couple of months. 

Well, I think it's always easier to catch them at night regardless of season. the books say that after the thermocline breaks down a day bite should develop or at the least they will become more active during the day but in my experience that does not stop them from being active at night. They have big giant eyes for a reason.