hudson river striper runs?

Rate this topic

Hi,

I'm somewhat new to fishing, live in northern westchester, the hudson is about five minutes away.  I understand there's a striper run every year, lots of people casting from the shore. Anyone have a sense of what tackle I'd need to fish from the shore? Also, I believe it's not safe to eat fish from the Hudson. Seems a little strange, aren't these the same fish that are eventually caught and eaten off of NJ?

thanks, any and all help appreciated!

best,

The bass bite was hot north of that new bridge end of sept- mid oct. That big oct 17 storm blew them right out to the ocean. This past spring, last week of March into April the striper bite was every other cast. May through August is pretty slow on the Hudson, but LI sound is not far away :p

Tis better to remain silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

• 3 weeks later...

I just started fishing saltwater / hudson river recently too.   I'm struggling to understand where/when/how of the hudson.  I'm reading lots, but I don't understand for example, if the only way to catch off of shore is just throwing baits OR if I can also throw lures.  

So much to learn. I'll keep reading. 

On 11/2/2019 at 1:16 PM, cheech said:

The bass bite was hot north of that new bridge end of sept- mid oct. That big oct 17 storm blew them right out to the ocean. This past spring, last week of March into April the striper bite was every other cast.

Really interesting.  Experienced the great early spring east river/western sound bite and assumed those fish were leaving fish leaving the Hudson.   Also assumed they would would return to the Hudson late fall and early winter to spend the winter.  Knew about the spawning run but not that there was a good early fall bite there.  Are there bass in the Hudson year round?