CLFish5

Help a newbie out!!

Rate this topic

99 posts in this topic

I am a newbie when it comes to catching stripers for the surf and I confess....I get skunked every time I go out!!! It’s really frustrating and I thought I could post on here for some help and guidance.

Some info:

1. I’ve fished 7-8 times in the past month and have gotten skunked each time.

2. I’ve fished the front of RM 5, 2, 4 as well as the back at those locations. I have also fished WE2 and JB 6. 
3. I normally fish the last 2 hours of incoming and the first two of outgoing.

4. I have used A17, A27, SP Minnows, bucktails of different sizes, soft plastics, and mag darters. I fish these as I believe I should. Varying retrieve speeds, bouncing off bottom, etc. 

This is my first fishing season. I started in July and did decently well off the jetties with the blues and fluke from shore. But I cannot catch a striper to save my life!!! It’s so frustrating! Yesterday I went out to the surf and literally couldn’t even cast it was so windy and the current was crazy. I used A17, 27, and bucktails and couldn’t even get them over the first breaker and bar. 

Please fisherman help me out. I am so passionate for this sport. I watch all the videos and use the reports to help guide me. I’ve put in hours of time and can’t land a fish.

Any advice for the noob? I would love to clarify on any missing info if needed!!

Try a big swimmer, A-40 or whatever. Toss it as far as you can and retrieve it as slow as you can. Rinse, repeat. Sometimes its just a matter of being there and being persistent. Learn a plug type at a time, under various situations, but cast it till you catch.