weekendwarrior

Will New Regs Be Enough?

Rate this topic

49 posts in this topic

Just curious.......in three days the ASMFC will vote to cut the striped bass harvest pretty dramatically.  Seems 1@35” might be the way they go.  Do you guys think that will be enough?  Or is this just re-arranging the deck chairs on the Titanic?  

Judging by all the pics of the 35"+ fish dead I saw this week from Central/North Jersey fleet I'd lean towards not enough imo, but I'm no expert and don't pretend to be.

1 @ 24”+. I rather not even fish for large fish but have a nice one occasionally for a sandwich..  

18 hours ago, Scallywag said:

I'm all for a slot limit. 1 fish 26-32"

I'm with you on that, but I was gonna say 24-34 or something like that. Either way I think a slot limit is the way to go. I know it's been said before but I'll say it again, look what a slot limit did for the redfish population. It works. Also, I think having a slot might cut down on the charter and party boats going out to find large fish.

Being witness to what happened for a week where massive bass were taken from the surf, i can't see how 1@35" is going to save this.   People say protect the younger fish, hello! There are poachers everywhere out there that take bass all the time.

They need to get their head out of their ass and put a moratorium b/c right now the titanic is in full swing

No.

And all the one at 35 inches is going to do is eliminate the possibility of 95% of people fishing from land a chance at a keeper. While the boats will continue to slaughter just about every fish they can. 

Posted (edited) · Report post

1 hour ago, chitala383 said:

I'm with you on that, but I was gonna say 24-34 or something like that. Either way I think a slot limit is the way to go. I know it's been said before but I'll say it again, look what a slot limit did for the redfish population. It works. Also, I think having a slot might cut down on the charter and party boats going out to find large fish.