Kayaken410

Lure builder wannabe needing advice

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

First off, hello to all on the site reading my first post.  I'm an avid woodworker and wanting to get into lure building.  I have a full woodshop and have built all sorts of furniture.  I'm definitely interested in starting to build plugs but wanted to get some recommendations on what hardware to buy (weights, through wire, grommets, split rings, and hooks).  I don't have the faintest clue and want to avoid my common mistake of buying twice to thrice before learning what the right stuff is to use.  Couple of questions to start:

For plugs:

- What size wire do I need for forming the nose loop where the sting ties on to all the way through to the back end where the hooks attach via split rings?

- What size(s) split rings are most common for striper and bluefish plugs?

- Should I stick with single hooks or triple hooks and what sizes should I buy?

- Any other hand tools that are a must besides split ring pliers?

I thank you and so does my wallet in advance.  :)

Ken

15 hours ago, Kayaken410 said:

First off, hello to all on the site reading my first post.  I'm an avid woodworker and wanting to get into lure building.  I have a full woodshop and have built all sorts of furniture.  I'm definitely interested in starting to build plugs but wanted to get some recommendations on what hardware to buy (weights, through wire, grommets, split rings, and hooks).  I don't have the faintest clue and want to avoid my common mistake of buying twice to thrice before learning what the right stuff is to use.  Couple of questions to start:

For plugs:

- What size wire do I need for forming the nose loop where the sting ties on to all the way through to the back end where the hooks attach via split rings?

- What size(s) split rings are most common for striper and bluefish plugs?

- Should I stick with single hooks or triple hooks and what sizes should I buy?