coastalfreak

Best Catfish Baits

23 posts in this topic

Hey folks, so I’m new to cat fishing and I’m looking for the best baits, primarily for channels and bullheads. I’ve been looking at prepared baits and those preserved shad and such in store. Not really the type of guy to use live or dead fish that I catch unless I gut hook it. Thanks.

You are best off using live fish that you catch and you make dead with a knife.

Bluegill, carp, and sucker are tough to beat.

Live crawfish can not be beat.

Night crawlers and red worms work great, but result in large amounts of bycatch aka "bait".

If you want a prepared bait, Triple S dip bait (formerly known as Sonny's) is the best. 

1 min ago, Beastly Backlash said:

You are best off using live fish that you catch and you make dead with a knife.

Bluegill, carp, and sucker are tough to beat.

Live crawfish can not be beat.

Night crawlers and red worms work great, but result in large amounts of bycatch aka "bait".

If you want a prepared bait, Triple S dip bait (formerly known as Sonny's) is the best. 

What size hook would you recommend for the night crawler tactic?

you will think im ****ting you but slim jim's....take a little bit of slim jim and shrimp and i can assure you...catfish will be all over it....

I have over 40 fish in like 5 hours using slim jim....they like the spicy meat and oil....they can smell it for miles....good luck...

All good advice.

I like circle hooks fwiw.  

For channels and bullheads I used all sorts of stink baits and internet recipes, and nothign seems to work as well as a nice earthworm or freshly dead cutbait of local fish.

I know they say crayfish, but I havent found the love there yet, and hotdogs are, imo , overrated.  

There's an absurd amount of info on the net about catfishing.