Southcoastphil

School me on mullet (fish, not hair!)

Rate this topic

24 posts in this topic

I'm just starting to learn about the fall mullet run, so any help you can provide will be appreciated.

From what I've recently read:

• They appear to be 5-8" long, with blue to olive-ish backs and silver sides.
  • Run starts in mid-late September.  How long does it typically last?
  • One tell-tale indicator is a group of V-wakes, moving very quickly. 
    • This suggests to me that any lures that can be retrieved quickly just below the surface--needles and stubby needles, sluggos, real tins, metal lips like juniors/spin atoms, plastic swimmers like bombers or SPs--could be effective.  What do you use?
    • In the absence of V-wakes, do you use sub-surface lures?
  • Is this strictly a daytime thing?
  • Do you prefer certain tides/wind directions/moons?

What else should I know?

As always, many TIA for your help.

You're asking for secrets so I'm not gonna tell yah, redfins come in that color and wake on the surface.

Aside from that, mullet vary year to year. A good mullet run is a very good thing indeed. Some years you never see them.

Three things I like, besides they being Crack to stripers;

The bait balls when they get caught out traveling by the bass.

The way they turn and run into the rocks or onto the beach when bass find them.

The noise a big bass makes when it tried 3 times to inhale a mullet skimming across the surface.

Mullet - When you find them migrating, stop everything and text me, call me, message me, whatever you have to do.

Mullet = Large stripers

Even a hack like me can catch big fish during a mullet blitz.