kesigage

Bodi-Braid Alternative(s)

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

I tried posting this earlier, but I don't see it anywhere, so here it goes again...

Any alternatives for Bodi-Braid? Have a recipe for a bucktail Surf Candy that wants one layer of Bodi-Braid, of which, I don't have. Thinking I can get away with a thread wrap but wasn't sure as I am new to fly tying. Thoughts?

Last I checked , the local chain craft store had something pretty close. Forget the brand name though. ( Fyre Werks maybe?)

That said, You can get a 30 yd spool of the origonal good stuff for around $8 . Bears Den in Taunton MA has it in stock all the time. ( and now, so do I :-)) 

LastI heard, Bill's widow still got a small taste of each sale. Bill was a great guy. I'd like to think she still does anyway.

Edited by WeeHooker

To echo what WeeHooker has said, I often buy the tinsel version of what, I believe, is embroidery yarn at craft stores. It’s similar enough, cheap, and what I like is that it comes stranded together so you can adjust how thick it is by adding or subtracting strands. 

Fyre werks! There's 2 different weaves of this material.One is a flat braid ribbon and the other is a woven yarn made by the same company.Both are used in needlepoint applications.It's distributed by;Rainbow Gallery,7412 Fulton ave.#5,N.Hollywood Ca.91605.Years ago you could buy it in bulk spools if you have a tax #.That has changed.The ribbon is what to use in you want a flat surface and be able to build up a body.The other is a hollow weave and a bit tougher to deal with.Also,the ribbon can be tied in on the hook in a length and "picked" out with a bodkin to get a so-called crystal flash effect without individual strands of flash.If you do use this method start "picking" at the end of ribbon and open the weave as you pick towards the tie in point. Hope this helps.