Backroads

Newbie brought here by the kindness of a Veteran

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

Howdy all. I'm somewhat new to striper fishing. This is my second fall season. Last night I was lucky enough to talk with a gentleman visiting RI for the fall run and pick his brain and ask advice while we waited in rotation. In the short time I was able to gain some really good advice that boosted my confidence. At the end of the night he gave me a "Rock Hopping Mike" to try. So thru the wonders of Google and searching for where to get more Rock Hopping Mikes I was led here and decided to join. Anyways, I'm here to learn more, share experiences and learn from y'all. I can't say enough good stuff about some of the guys that have helped get me started. I'm sure some of y'all are in here so thanks again and look forward to learning even more!

Attached is the pic of the RHM that was gifted to me. I can't wait to catch a big one on it! 

70816581_1126547300889391_6780951163572322304_n.jpg

Cool. Welcome aboard. There are good people here, and you should be able to learn plenty. The search function can bring up a lot of good threads from the past, and from forums other than RI. 

Edited by fishinbill

Thanks Bill. Seems I have a lot to read on here. I'll try to limit my newbie questions to one a week max! lol

In all seriousness I realize there is a wealth of knowledge a search button away. So far the guys who have helped me have been great getting me started and getting me on good fish. I haven't kept any keepers this year either though I can say I've only caught about 1/2 dozen legal fish. 

Mike’s a good guy. Doesn’t post on here anymore, but if he hasn’t moved you can usually find him on a certain beach in Westerly most mornings. I always look forward to seeing him in the Fall.  

Like the post post above says, the Search function is an invaluable resource here.