EricS

11wt Line Choice and Saltwater Hooks

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

I need a little help narrowing/confirming a few choices ( or even suggesting some new ones ). I have a trip up to NJ planned and I am itching to do some striper fishing. I have extensive surfcasting knowledge, but with conventional tackle not fly. I will be bringing my 11wt for hunting some stripers at night, and my 8wt for albies during the day. I have full sinking ( 6IPS ) lines for both, but am looking to get a slower sink line. I was looking at the SA Sink 30 clear, does anyone have any experience? Is a intermediate tip line better then full intermediate? I will be fishing in an area with large waves and plenty of rips, 4-10 feet deep. 

My next question is around fly hook choice. I will be tying some large game changer style 8-12 inch bunker flys and would like a stout saltwater hook. I was looking at the Gami B12S and the TMC 600SP. Anyone have preference over either? I have some Gami b10s, but fear they are a little light. 

Thanks all! 

I use an I line when fishing Jersey 90% of the time.My current favs are Cortland compact head intermediate,a 26' head w/ floating running line and RIO's Coastal quick shooter which has a sinking running line.

Sink tip I line only goes to 4' or so on a mid-tempo retrieve.I prefer a full sinking head.

1 hour ago, slip n slide said:

I use an I line when fishing Jersey 90% of the time.My current favs are Cortland compact head intermediate,a 26' head w/ floating running line

How's that mono core treating you in the fall?

Posted (edited) · Report post

5 hours ago, Ditchrat said:

How's that mono core treating you in the fall?

I fish our local rivers w/ it for walleye into the low 40's and no problems.

When it's cold make sure you stretch the line as you pull it off the reel so it won't loop up on ya,but that should be done every time you fish anyway,right?

I like monocore lines as that stretchyness can be used to really zing a cast.