Bdemiri23

Beach Driving Question

Rate this topic

28 posts in this topic

Thank you in advance for any help with this question. I have a 2008 Jeep Liberty (trail rated) . I was driving in some soft sand the other day and the vehicle seemed to be struggling. I am fairly new to driving on the beach.I do know that this is probably not the ideal truck for the sand. 

1. Should I be on locked 4wd Low or just 4wd?

2. I aired down to about 26 psi? Is this low enough?

Thank you for your help.

1 min ago, Bdemiri23 said:

Thank you in advance for any help with this question. I have a 2008 Jeep Liberty (trail rated) . I was driving in some soft sand the other day and the vehicle seemed to be struggling. I am fairly new to driving on the beach.I do know that this is probably not the ideal truck for the sand. 

1. Should I be on locked 4wd Low or just 4wd?

2. I aired down to about 26 psi? Is this low enough?

Thank you for your help.

1. 4wd

2. 15 psig or lower.  26 psig caused the struggling.

26psi is way to much. 15psi at minimum. 

If you got stuck and someone noticed your tire pressure was that high, they’d be well within their rights to not tow you out and risk damaging their vehicle. 

Your Liberty is perfectly fine for beach driving. 

43 mins ago, Darth Baiter said:

1. 4wd

2. 15 psig or lower.  26 psig caused the struggling.

What he said.  And even at that, be careful.  No sudden starts or stops and watch out for the holes/craters people or kids dig on the beaches.  Also, don't fall over the lip of the beach as that can be a disaster.  Be safe out there.

5 mins ago, nofomofo said:

Is 1/2 of normal tire pressure a good rule of thumb?

15 psi is the rule of thumb. 

My tires are 44psi.  If I am at 22 I am too high. 

Its not that complicated, air down to 15.