BernardtheGurnard

Circle hooks for eel rigging

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

I read through the new MA circle hook requirements for 2020 and it seems that circle hooks will be required for rigging whole bait which would include eels.

I’m just getting into using eels and I’m not finding much info on rigging them with circle hooks. Most of what I find is using Siwash hooks and the Dacron line.     Would it even be much different of a process?  I appreciate any suggestions that might be offered!

A rigged eel is almost like a lure, in that it’s fished like one. That’s a great question and I’m not positive of the answer, but I think they’re pushing for use of circle hooks with baits that are actually eaten, like chunks or live prey. 

I'm not sure that rigged eels would even work with circle hooks. The orientation of the hook point to the fish jaw just seems wrong to me, in a fixed position setting like a riggie. I mean, I use circles with live eels and all.. but those things are inhaled and then set on the pull out. 

Interesting question, tbs. 

4 hours ago, rst3 said:

I'm not sure that rigged eels would even work with circle hooks. The orientation of the hook point to the fish jaw just seems wrong to me, in a fixed position setting like a riggie. I mean, I use circles with live eels and all.. but those things are inhaled and then set on the pull out. 

Interesting question, tbs. 

Circle hooks in rigged eels= a felony

I was wondering about this when the circle hook thing came up. Is a riggly a bait or a lure.  I think there are 9/0 circle hooks yet these might not be big enough.

Posted (edited) · Report post

Interesting, two people have now said it’s a felony. My understanding is that circle hooks reduce release mortality in striped bass.  I can’t find a reference to use of a circle hook in a rigged eel being a felony, it seems that the opposite may be true as the MA DMF is requiring the use of circle hooks for 2020.