New to surf fishing

Rate this topic

Garshark572

Hi I'm a college student at hofstra and I could use so help in regarding places to fish.  I'm from ohio so I dont have much surf fishing experience.  I have fished a few places in jones beach and caught blue fish short fluke and 3 stripers in probably 30 trips.  I know people are tight lipped out here about places to fish.  I'm not asking for anyone's secret spots but if someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.  I have a car so driving on the beach is a no go.  I plan to get the night permit bc it seems like I need it to catch fish but it will be expensive since I'm a non resident.   I would love any help people could give me, I mostly fish sp minnows, mag darters, bucktails and tins.  Thanks in advance for any help.  Fishing on long island is a little overwhelming, theres so much to learn

Like hydraman said

You are close to some very, very good places to fish. Lots of inlet and lots of beach to cover.

As for night permit, check with Jones park office. You may be able to get permit with student ID.

I know that they are giving permits to cars with out of state plates $55.00

http://jonesbeach.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=276&Itemid=100087

Bad day fishing is still much better than good day work.

"Any man who thinks he can be happy and prosperous by letting the government take care of him had better take a much closer look at the American Indian.
                                                                                     - Henry Ford-

23 hours ago, Garshark572 said: