LGFishing

Tips for an intermediate?

Rate this topic

25 posts in this topic

Hi.  I have been using a spinning setup for years, but I am just beginning to really want to seriously get into fishing.  I will need to be casting up to 150 yards, and I’ll be surfcasting.  I’ll be targeting small to medium sized bluefish and stripers.

1. Should I get a spinning or conventional reel?

2. How hard is it to manually level wind?

On 9/6/2019 at 7:31 PM, FishinMortician said:

Find a great rod, learn to cast, get a long cast reel and quality braid, then build aerodynamic payloads. After you do those things 150 yards gets pretty easy.

Do you think an Abu Garcia C3 6500, Penn Squall, or Penn Fierce II would be a better reel?

I don’t know anyone who thinks 150yds is “pretty easy” in real fishing conditions. Is it possible with the right gear and tackle, of course...but half that distance is a decent cast. Don’t set yourself up for disappointment or failure...if you really need to cast 150yds regularly, you’re gonna need a very long rod, a well calibrated conventional reel, and special, long cast, weighted plugs...plus a lot of practice. I can cast an 11’ surf rod pretty well, and I almost never hit 100yds on the water. Heck, I’m happy to hit 50 yds throwing a darter into the wind. Think about what you really need to accomplish and then gear up accordingly. 

2 hours ago, Mojua said: