Steve_in_PA

Fall Striper Plugs for Newbie

Rate this topic

33 posts in this topic

I'm new to surf fishing but plan to hit the beaches in NJ and Delaware this fall to start learning about striper fishing.  What plugs should I have in my kit?

One or two metals like deadly dick, Hopkins, kastmaster etc. 

one or two SP minnows. 

A topwater popper like smack smack it or Tsunami talking popper. 

A pencil popper. 

3/4 OZ bucktail white, different trailer options. 

Good to see a fellow bucksco surfcaster on here

Since you are new to surfcasting I would highly suggest keeping things simple to start. IF you hear that the bass are hitting a certain plug/color than by all means go out and buy it immediately.

To start you should fill your bag with:

5" yozuri mag darter

Sp Minnow

Jetty Caster Bucktails 3/4 oz-1.5oz

Super Strike Little Neck Popper

Colors are simple: Black and White until you run into a situation where color makes a difference.

It is good that youre preparing now! I highly suggest that you learn the bait progression in the Fall for NJ and DE. You will want to "match the hatch". Peanut Bunker = Small Swimmers and Bucktails. Big Bunker = Big metal Lips and Big Pencil Poppers, Sandeels = needlefish and tins. Etc.

11 mins ago, DragonsLax48 said:

Since you are new to surfcasting I would highly suggest keeping things simple to start. IF you hear that the bass are hitting a certain plug/color than by all means go out and buy it immediately.

5" yozuri mag darter

Sp Minnow

Colors are simple: Black and White until you run into a situation where color makes a difference.

It is good that youre preparing now! I highly suggest that you learn the bait progression in the Fall for NJ and DE. You will want to "match the hatch". Peanut Bunker = Small Swimmers and Bucktails. Big Bunker = Big metal Lips and Big Pencil Poppers, Sandeels = needlefish and tins. Etc.

You are missing one.

pre-lives-1508877120.jpg.8a2bedc219d7a37226e92be919a054cb.jpg