Slowpoke Kid

Set up recommendation for a person with disability

Rate this topic

19 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I recently got diagnosed with a neurological disease with, among other things, cause my right hand to be very slow.  On my last fishing trip, my hand was so slow that I constantly get snatched up on the rocks along the jetties because I can't reel in the line fast enough.

I don't get to go fishing often before because of my job, but at the rate of my disease progress, I might find myself unemployed soon and need to look for a new job that I can do with my medical condition.  It means that I might have a lot more free time to go fishing.  I find fishing very therapeutic and don't want to give fishing even if I am not good at it. 

I fish on shore (beach, jetties, pier).  I am looking for recommendations for a new setup, I am willing to spend more money for quality gear to make up for my disability.  I am  thinking about getting a really surf rod and reel that can do well on the pier.  I mostly bait fish before, but I want to get into artificial lures.

Please help me choose a quality setup.  I am willing to spend time $500 or more.  Thank you.

I’m sorry to hear about your recent diagnosis, but it’s great that you’re still committed to fishing. There are many options out there, and you can get a nice setup for $500. They make a high speed model of the penn slammer III that can help with the issue of not being able to reel fast enough. Add in an appropriately sized tsunami airwave (~$150) and you have a nice setup in your price range.

This might be a good resource for you to refer to when purchasing some adaptive equipment.

https://www.disabledsportsusa.org/sports/adaptive-equipment/fishing-equipment/

Not sure what your disease is, but I remember OTW had something that was a rod/reel combo that you could manage with a single hand, designed specifically for a person with a disability.

1 hour ago, C.Robin said: