jjdbike

Help w/light distance surf setup please?

Rate this topic

16 posts in this topic

Hey folks,

I have a 12’ Shimano heavy long cast rod & reel set up. It launches heavy aerodynamic lures beyond the breakers.

Now I’m looking to assemble a budget light surf setup to cast 1/2 to 11/2 w/ sweet spot at about 3/4 - 1 1/4.

It’ll have 10 - 16lb braid.

I have Fenwick Silver Hawk 9’ MH 1 - 1 1/2 oz lures, line 10-20, model 10G16BK. I believe it’s a salmon rod but it’s pretty nice.

I was considering combining that w/ a Penn Conflict long cast 4000.

Does this sound like it’ll fit my needs?

I’m also open to any other suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

JD

I'm an ignorant newbie... But have input. 

I nearly gave up on surf fishing altogether before realizing my rod was outside "my rating" at 1-6 oz. 

I got a 9ft, 3/4 - 3oz Penn PrevaiI for $69(?) and it casts a 1.5oz Carolina rig very well (based on counting cranks during retrieve, about 75 yards).... Toss out a wee 1/2oz Kastmaster and it "feels" like i'm throwing a wiffle ball. There is no feedback if i'm not watching the actual flight path. 

Casting a 3/4oz Kastmaster does indeed provide a tactile feedback as to distance/when it hits water. 

I then got a 7ft Ugly Stik ($39?) "Striper rod" for 3/8 - 1oz and it tosses a 1/2oz Carolina rig for a high-percentile-distance versus the former! 

That's all i've got to offer... 

I think I have that same fenwick from Cabelas. I have it paired with a 4000 sized Shimano and it throws metal and jigs terrific. I think you have a great combo there. 

9 hours ago, jjdbike said:

Hey folks,

I have a 12’ Shimano heavy long cast rod & reel set up. It launches heavy aerodynamic lures beyond the breakers.

Now I’m looking to assemble a budget light surf setup to cast 1/2 to 11/2 w/ sweet spot at about 3/4 - 1 1/4.

It’ll have 10 - 16lb braid.

I have Fenwick Silver Hawk 9’ MH 1 - 1 1/2 oz lures, line 10-20, model 10G16BK. I believe it’s a salmon rod but it’s pretty nice.