ermghoti

Nocqua vs DIY

13 posts in this topic

It looks to me like a Nocqua kit costs about the same as a quality lithium battery and charger alone. The Nocqua is not waterproof, so I'd be inclined to rig a Pelican style box with connectors Gooped in, and mount it on some upper surface of the inside of the hull. Is there any advantage of going in one direction or the other? I've searched, but all the threads seem to take a lithium vs SLA tack, which is a separate issue.

I have a  Nocqua 10AH, sure looks waterproof, it is in a molded rubber case with  the waterproof molded to case cord coming out. The outter nylon bag makes it look not waterproof. Just mounted a Dragonfly on the kayak and heading up to Salem kayak fishing  tourney , I’ll let ya know how it works.

I’m an electrician  and pretty anal  about stuff I was  impressed with the whole battery setup, your pelican  case empty will weigh almost what the 10ah setup EFD306B1-33F4-4265-ACE8-3B47D3AFBC0A.jpeg.311d0dd57c58560722f4a69080af6ab8.jpegweighs.

901B4044-034A-4245-8FA1-A8CC213B11A1.jpeg

Posted (edited) · Report post

20 hours ago, ermghoti said:

It looks to me like a Nocqua kit costs about the same as a quality lithium battery and charger alone. The Nocqua is not waterproof, so I'd be inclined to rig a Pelican style box with connectors Gooped in, and mount it on some upper surface of the inside of the hull. Is there any advantage of going in one direction or the other? I've searched, but all the threads seem to take a lithium vs SLA tack, which is a separate issue.

I think your overthinking it.  Says it’s water proof.  Call Nocqua and see what they say. 

Many of us here still use 12 volt SLA batteries, some use a water proof box, some don’t. 

I have a nocqua and a SLA and never had a waterproof box. 

D0F2BDBD-3E66-4F18-9BCF-D4BA700D6A8A.png

Edited by The Riddler