Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ATBfish

Adding a trolling motor...

9 posts in this topic

Hey guys I’m in my first year of kayak fishing and definitely wish I got a pedal drive but at this point I’m going to have my Jackson big rig for at least another season. Trolling in this thing can be a real pain as it is heavy and in current it can take everything I have to paddle. Being able to have my hands free sounds great but I have some concerns about it. It would seem you’re limited to how long you can fish because once your battery goes it seems that paddling with the motor on back would not be fun and cause the kayak to not track well? Anyways just looking for peoples opinions of who has added a trolling motor and wether you liked it or not before I make the purchase. 

Thanks 

I think you should work on your paddling or look into a solo skiff.  Ive seen quite a few people with trolling motors on kayak, but it doesn't seem to be their primary means of propulsion.  You dont want to be stuck in the water far from your launch spot unable to paddle.  Once you put a motor on a kayak you need to register it in certain states as well.

1 hour ago, bantis said:

I think you should work on your paddling or look into a solo skiff.  Ive seen quite a few people with trolling motors on kayak, but it doesn't seem to be their primary means of propulsion.  You dont want to be stuck in the water far from your launch spot unable to paddle.  Once you put a motor on a kayak you need to register it in certain states as well.

I definitely need to work on my paddling I just like the idea of being able to be hands free to fish. I would paddle out to the area I would fish. I go back and forth on wether I would want to do this because it just seems like a lot of extra weight to paddle when you’re not using it and only get 2-3 hours of it makes me uneasy about spending all that money on it. Plus it seems like a lot to deal with. Just trying to see if pros out weigh the cons...