Ab4usa

New to the salt and need some help

Rate this topic

16 posts in this topic

I’m new to saltwater fly fishing.  Been fresh water fly fishing for 10 or 12 years including trout, smallmouth bass, steelhead and salmon.  I have a chance to spend 3 mornings fishing on Cape Cod in mid September and I have a number of questions;

1)        I will be staying in Chatham and thought the Monomoy flats would be a good place to go.  I understand one can park at the Wildlife Refuge Center and walk out and there is also a water taxi that will take people to the islands.  Thoughts anyone.

2)        I plan to take both an 8 weight and 9 weight as a back up.  Does this make sense?

3)        I have an older Teton fly reel for the 8 weight. Its in great shape but will I be OK with it or do I need to replace it?

4)        What flies and what size should I have ready?  I would always prefer to tie my own but don’t really mind purchasing some.

5)        Stripping basket?

Ill probably have more questions but I think that’s it for now.

Thanks

The reason no one is responding is because this topic has been covered over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over . . . on this forum.

Spend some time getting to know the search function.  One member prefers to google search using +stripers+online for good results.  

Good luck.

1)        I have only fished there once so I can’t say for sure but the wildlife center access is pretty good. 

2)        I plan to take both an 8 weight and 9 weight as a back up.  Does this make sense?

Yes probably I would grab the 8 first