snapper1

Opal 9-10 Input

Rate this topic

25 posts in this topic

Hi all

I'm fairly new to OH 2Handed  flycasting...Practicing a lot...I use an Ambush 12.5 F(525 grs) on the Opal 9-10 ...I'd like to know if some of you guys are using heavier lines on that specific rod.

Thank you for taking time to answer

^..^

I have the older version of the 9/10 Beulah (same specs, slightly heavier materials and build).  Rio Outbound Short 12w or 11w both work fine.  They are 465g and 510g respectively.  I have tried using a Wulff Ambush 13wt line on it (550 grains and 30ft).  If I use the head alone it can handle it, but if I add a tip it overloads the rod when casting THOH.  The rod performs best for distance casting with around 450 to 480 grains.  An Outbound 12w short is about the maximum; although, Beulah recommends their 550g Serum line which is 40g heavier.

Your rod may be a bit faster but the older version rod is just as powerful.

The Ambush line you are using has a 29' head.   Before you try switching to a heavier line try adding an Airflo 5ft Tarpon (intermediate) polyleader.  This will extend the front (non running section) of the line to 34' (*) and will add maybe another 50 grains.  The tarpon polyleaders can also be used on the Outbound Short lines.   The reason I am suggesting this is that the Ambush lines are designed to throw tips.

(*) Can also create a looped 4ft section of an older intermediate running line.  YMMV.

The best line for this rod is probably the older Airflo Beach Line in 9/10wt or 10/11wt.  Almost impossible to find.  There's also an 11/12 beach line that is too heavy for this rod.

Edited by Killiefish

I have not fished the rod but I have handled it briefly and it seems to me their rating is a spey rating, in the sense that it uses single handed lines 3 line weights heavier than what is labeled on the blank.

So this 9/10 opal would want 12/13wt single handed lines for THOH.