fishtheeast

Sea Ducks from the Beach

Rate this topic

21 posts in this topic

This is very random considering it is not duck hunting season but I am new to duck hunting and am curious if people hunt sea ducks from shore on the cape or south shore, or if your only shot at them would be in open water via boat. 

I was thinking it might be possible to set up some decoys via kayak and then sit up on a jetty or even a layout blind on the beach and then retrieve them with the kayak. Kind of along the lines of swimming out to a rock to fish but instead I would kayak out to get on a rock to duck hunt?

I want to get into sea duck hunting but I don’t have a boat nor do I want one. I want to stick to the yak. 

I may be totally wrong so I apologize, any info, help or thoughts on this is much appreciated! 

Thanks! 

Totally legal as long as the town bylaws allow it and you are within the legal limits according to the law. There are a ton of places that are on the south coast that guys I know hunt. When I am in my stand for deer season I can always tell when duck season opens by all the gunshots that go off on the coast

It’s totally possible. They often come quite close to shore to feed. Do some scouting and see what beach stretches they tend to frequent. Just be careful out there. The water during sea duck season is cold and often rough. 

10 mins ago, Timmytuna said:

I used to hunt sea ducks from shore years ago totally doable. Just a heads up though most sea ducks smell and taste awful.

I’ve never found that they smell awful. Eiders are probably the worst eating bird of the sea ducks. I’ve made plenty of stews with scoters and they came out great. Just cut them into smaller pieces and throw them into a crock pot stew.