Staying in Waves, OBX :)

Rate this topic

Hey everyone! This is my first post on this forum! on 7/6/19 im heading down to Waves, OBX for a week. I have a few questions for all you experienced fishermen out there.  

I usually only bass fish in lakes and large ponds, so im completely new to saltwater fishing. I got a something 3000 salt water reel, a 12 foot surf rod (probably overkill but too late now), some 4/0 circle hooks, 10- 3 oz pyramid weights, and i picked up some high low rigs (honestly just knew i was going to lose a few and was too lazy to tie all them myself).

So today i realized, I could go pier fishing if i wanted. I had previously planned to go surf fishing, (not targeting anything specific, just something i could eat) and now i have the option to go to a pier.

Do you think id have better luck surf fishing or piet fishing? I still need some 30 pound line and probably a shock leader.

Im thinking some mullet for bait. Do you think i should look for something else instead?

When throwing a high low rig, do you just throw it, tighten the line, then wait?

any other advice will be much appreciated!!

Sounds like you have the basics for either pier or surf. Mullet, shrimp, menhaden, squid are all possibilities for bait. You will need a leader unless you like seeing your rigs journey out in the ocean without you when casting. 

Depending upon your casting skills and where you fish you might be able to get behind the first sandbar but there are plenty of fish in the surf as well. Pier fishing may give you access to deeper water but not necessarily more fish. 

You might consider a drum rig or some gotcha plugs as well. Be careful not to tighten your drag too much. The unexpected big bite can take your rod & reel with it otherwise - particularly if you are not holding on to it. 

"A land without memories is a people without liberty" - Robert E. Lee