Mike Oliver

Declining Striper Resource

Rate this topic

153 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

We had our usual three weeks last week in May first two weeks of June in Cape Cod

We had a good time marred by poor fishing. Every Fly Boy and Gal I spoke with had the same story of low numbers of fish and small fish compared even to last year which itself was not good.

Bait was not in evidence most places I fished. When it was it was not plentiful.

Bass were missing in many of my usual spots.

Night time was the get out of jail card but bigger fish still very hard to find.

This is a step change and only those who are illiterate can’t see the writing written in the sand.

Sure big Stripers are being caught in the Canal. The Brit team who fish gear did ok.

But for a time there will always be big fish caught as a fishery declines. It can mask the truth for those who do not seek it.

I have been fishing for Stripers for twenty two years  and have observed a decline year on year for the last ten of those years. The last three has seen an acceleration of that decline.

You lost your fishery once and it is abundantly clear that if the status quo is allowed to continue that you will lose it again. Recovery cannot be assumed either just because it did after the first moratorium.

So we have choices put our heads into the sand and do nothing but moan and wail about the poor fishing but still allocate time to that activity or give time to fight for proper protection and long term management of the Striper resource.

Talking shop amongst ourselves will not cut it.  There is a need for motivated and properly funded team to take the case to your Government.

Who is prepared to be apart of that. Will you as a Recreational Fisher be prepared to put your hand into your pocket and deep,y to support and fund the effort.