10wt guide help

Rate this topic

crowconor

Hi everyone I was looking for a bit of assistance on guides for a 9ft 10wt CTS affinity X blank I am thinking about building. I am a bit of an amateur when it comes to some of these decisions so I figured getting second opinions could be beneficial. I was planning on using a #16 and #10 stripping guide followed by x8 size 8 running guides. I have read about using three stripping guides (adding a #20) instead of two, is there any benefit to this? I am also unsure about the guides I should use. I have read a lot of positive things about REC titanium snake guides, but was thinking about single foot ceramic insert running guides. I read that ceramic insert guides can have better performance and the idea of having half as many wraps is nice. I searched and found similar discussions but there didn't seem to be any consensus. Any suggestions? 

I'm not an expert builder but I've built all my rods and like them so...

Just finished a 9' 9 weight I'll use for stripers here and juvie tarpon in the winter. I used a #16 and #12 stripper followed by a #10 single foot, then #8s the rest of the way. I used Fuji SICs because I had some left in my box, but built a similar 9 weight with PacBay Minimas and I like that rod too (some people are not wild about the Minimas though). I cast the new one first time yesterday and liked it a lot, not as nice a blank as your CTS though. FWIW I also put 2 locking wraps on each of the single foot guides as insurance. As far as performance I cast a Scott Tidal recently, which has snake guides instead of single foots, and I liked it just as much as my rod with singles performance wise. Might be that I'm not that discerning a caster, but I like using half the wraps. Maybe I'm just lazy...I don't think you can go too far wrong either way.

9 hours ago, stormy monday said:

I'm not an expert builder but I've built all my rods and like them so...