Garshark572

Big stingrays

Rate this topic

65 posts in this topic

Hi I'm new to surf fishing and fishing long island, I'm from ohio and just started fishing long island.  Today I was fishing jones beach with bunker and caught a huge stingray, is this common here.  I was trying for stripers but this got my heart racing.

20190619_081411.jpg

Ive caught skates and cownose rays but that looks like a genuine stingray, may want to watch your feet

Roughtail Stingray (Dasyatis centroura) 
One of the largest of all the stingrays, 7 feet across and 14 feet long.

Looks like a tangled mess. I caught a lot of cow nose last summer with bucktails, always a fun tiring fight. I agree though, watch your feet!

Posted (edited) · Report post