Stephen_b

st croix Mojo surf rods vs ODM DNA

Rate this topic

19 posts in this topic

I am fairly new to surfcasting and am looking to upgrade my rod looking to stay in the $200-$300 range. I have narrowed it down to St Croix Mojo surf rods and ODM DNA. Pros and cons of each? 

37 mins ago, HugeDinghy said:

I know some folks disagree, but id never suggest a mojo.

Never fished one myself, but I have heard of a ton of people having issues with them. The Mojo seems to have some bad mojo surrounding it.

Posted (edited) · Report post

Mojo has a five year warranty and has a 70/30 split. Not sure if ODM DNA is a 50/50 or not. The 70/30is a pain to transport for me compared to a 50/50. I have the 11’ er. The company states they have a five week turnaround for warrantying their rods. They offer a 20$ Fed Ex shipping label and you will have to pack and ship rod to them for them to inspect. They do sell replacement tips for their rods and some say that the tips will work on similar length rods with different actions. The mojo have a reel seat that can spin and some have broken their rods for no apparent reason . There is some type of Gold Program where you can trade up if you break your rod. You pay for the program and the. The difference in price between the new rod and the price you paid for the one you purchased. Depreciation is factored in ( don’t recall it being awful or anything). 

Dont know now much about ODM.

What size rod are you considering?

Edited by jeffapeikin