Striper flies in New England

Rate this topic

stripernoob

Hey all! I am new to fly fishing for stripers. I have experience in fly fishing in freshwater, and recently made the jump to saltwater after a push from a buddy of mine. He told me that stripers are fun to catch, and don't require as much finesse (like casting accuracy, attention to detail) as other fish. I am located in New Hampshire, and do most of my fishing in NH and Maine. I don't cast from the beach, I fish in bodies of water like the Portsmouth Harbor, mainly for schoolies. I would love to know what everyone likes to throw. I have been told that Surf Candy is a good option, as well as Clouser Minnows in white/olive and chartreuse/white. I am not sure what colors and sizes work well, so please tell me what you have/do not have success with.

Lefty's deceiver from 4-7" long in olive over white or chartreuse over white, clouser minnow in olive over white 3-6" long, white gurglers and honestly that's really pretty much enough. There's lots more flies than that out there but honestly your presentation and angling skill makes a far bigger difference than your flies do. 

Just now, RedGreen said:

Lefty's deceiver from 4-7" long in olive over white or chartreuse over white, clouser minnow in olive over white 3-6" long, white gurglers and honestly that's really pretty much enough. There's lots more flies than that out there but honestly your presentation and angling skill makes a far bigger difference than your flies do. 

^^^^^ Dead on, particularly around the Piscataqua on the NH/ME border 

Started fishing for stripers ~10 yrs ago...have tied thousands of different flies, but always end up using a darker, more olive (less chartreuse) version of BFD's Betsy.  I have a full box of many patterns, but for the past three years, it's the only fly I've used.  Last summer, I caught over 500 fish during our week on the cape on that fly....

In my opinion, the best striper fly of all time.  Thanks Dick!!