domc22

Need help with picking a setup

Rate this topic

21 posts in this topic

Hello Everyone,

I am pretty new to all of this and looking to put together a rod/reel for mainly jetty fishing and some occasional surf fishing in NJ. I am mainly going for fluke, blues and striped bass. Ideally I'm looking for something that will allow me to accomplish that for now, before I spend all my money on different outfits. 

I'd like to spend a decent amount on a setup, I feel like spending a little more now will help me save money in the future. 

For reels I was looking at the Daiwa BG, Ballistic lt, Saltist, and Saltist Back Bay. I hear great things about the BG but worry it may be a little heavy for fishing for fluke. The saltist BackBay seems to have really favorable reviews but the Drag seems a little low (not sure I would even exceed 15.4# fishing on the beach for any of the above-mentioned species), and only takes 240 yds of 20# braid. I was looking at 4-4500 sizes. 4500 seems to be a bit larger, could I get away with a 4000?

As for rods there are a million options was thinking something around 8 foot medium fast surf rod, or 8ft heavy fast inshore rod, and looking for 2 pieces. I was interested in the St Croix Mojo and Tidemaster. Tsunami Airwave, Daiwa Coastal salt pro, Tica TC3 Dolphin, Star Stellar Lite, etc. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1 hour ago, domc22 said:

Hello Everyone,

I am pretty new to all of this and looking to put together a rod/reel for mainly jetty fishing and some occasional surf fishing in NJ. I am mainly going for fluke, blues and striped bass. Ideally I'm looking for something that will allow me to accomplish that for now, before I spend all my money on different outfits. 

I'd like to spend a decent amount on a setup, I feel like spending a little more now will help me save money in the future.