Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
shoot2drill

Line Slap

Rate this topic

7 posts in this topic

I have enjoyed looking at the beautiful rods you guys build on here, great work!  I hope someday I'll find the time/money to build some of my own, but until then I have a question for you guys...

I have a 10'6" TFO GIS 2-6 oz paired with Ultegra 5500XTD running 50# PP super slick.  Completely stock, off the shelf rod.  I have an issue of excessive line slap against the blank, when reeling in slack to make contact with the lure after a cast.  There is not a whole lot of line twist, but the line slap is very annoying.  Could this issue be remedied with pairing a different reel with the rod?  And I am curious as to what the distance the reel should be from the first guide (Gathering guide?).  I am new to this so any information I can get would be appreciated and if there are any recommendations on where I can study up on rod building I would appreciate it.

thanks

On 6/13/2019 at 1:19 AM, shoot2drill said:

Maybe it's the thin diameter of the longcast spool compared to the hieght of the first guide that is the issue?

From what I've researched myself because I'm new to rod building as well, it is the distance between your first guide (the stripper guide) and the reel seat. If its to close your line will over run the guide and if its to far away it will slap the blank.

The cheap and easy way to do it is to try a different kind of braid.

On ‎6‎/‎12‎/‎2019 at 8:22 AM, shoot2drill said:

I have an issue of excessive line slap against the blank, when reeling in slack to make contact with the lure after a cast.  There is not a whole lot of line twist, but the line slap is very annoying. 

I don't think I follow this: line slap is usually an issue during casting.