TimBuktoo

1321M vs. 1201M

Rate this topic

23 posts in this topic

Newbie here wanting to get a new rod built fishing of beach/rocks casting light swimmers to heavier darters... will a 10 footer be easier for me to work? Pros and cons?

A rod builder once told me the 1201M “exists within” the 1321M. Similar rods, one it 120”, medium action, 1 piece. The other 132”, et cetera. You could post something in the rod builder forum for different answers. 

By [popular consensus (I don't own one; I own the somewhat stronger 120-1M) the 120-1L is as close to a do-it-all casting rod as there is. Call it an old standard. 

1201m is definitely the rod I want when looking for big fish in the rocks at night! Not very good for daytime/ pencil popping but it works..... it’s actually the only rod I have right now...... obviously works in the sand too but would much rather have the 1201L or something lighter...... need to cop one soon!

Posted (edited) · Report post

If your looking to cast smaller swimmers such as sp's then go with the 1201L.  The rod will present and handle small swimmers better with sensitivity you'll appreciate as well as the load on the cast.  The rod will also easily cast most darters in the 2 to 3 oz range and the parabolic softness will do a good job at keeping small treble hooks attached to the fish.  With that said a 1321m or 1201m will do all of that plus extra power to punch into wind and turn bigger fish in current or around structure.  Both these blanks are the same rod with the 1201L being a foot shorter, cut from the butt end.  Go custom if you can but it's all about what feel your looking to achieve these days because when it really comes down to it unless your hauling fish in current around bridge or rock structure, all the other details mean nothing beyond feel an preference. And that's why I own too many rods.....

Edited by DeepBlue85