slowroller

Day vs Night strategies

Rate this topic

18 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

Over the last few years I've concentrated almost completely on night fishing with artificials for stripers and had great success. I'm about as dialed in as I think I can get when it comes to what tides/times/moon-phase to fish which spots, and it's a rare occasion that I don't find at least a few fish. However I feel like I'm missing some good opportunities to fish day tides. I've fished a handful of day time tides this season so far and my success ratio is the exact opposite of my night game. I've tried to apply the same tactics I used for redfish and speckled trout down south, but no joy thus far. Would love to hear some thoughts on day time tactics vs night. Also, I'm fishing East River/Hudson River areas from shore, not open beaches, so dealing with some monster currents. 

Thanks. 

Edited by slowroller

I’m new to sea fishing, I used to always fish in big lakes and rivers in Russia. And I don’t know whether the tide is good or bad for fishing? Give some good tips for newbies, please.

9 hours ago, GarryNYC said:

...Give some good tips for newbies, please.

Start reading some books, bacuska.

1 hour ago, Robbiethao10 said:

The master fisherman John Skinner on YouTube will show you everything you need to know 

Thanks it is always great having suggestions. There are tons of videos on YouTube...not always easy to figure out which ones are actually worth watching.

1 hour ago, GoldenStateSurf said:

Thanks it is always great having suggestions. There are tons of videos on YouTube...not always easy to figure out which ones are actually worth watching.

He is definitely the guy to watch. He actually covers and talks somewhat in-depth on using various plugs unlike others who just tell you what to use