jeffreyrichard

Customer Support venting ...

2 posts in this topic

I need to vent ...

I have a Cellblok unit for my existing Hummingbird GPS (Cellblok is an all-in-one setup for GPS, transducer arm and battery that attached to a standard rail). I purchased a new Garmin Striker 4 CV unit, so I needed a new ramount fixture to attached the Garmin FF head to ... found the Ram Mount has unit for the Garmin Striker ... excellent, I thought. Purchased this from them, and then started fitting to the Cellblok and the FF. There were no instructions for attaching the FF head to the ram mount fixture plate (that was being sold specifically for Garmin Striker and Echo units). I studied it, not intuitively obvious which holes to use on the base plate or how to screw the pieces together. OK, I'll call customer support. Well, they directed me to a YouTube video that explained how the ram mount unit can be used with the FF, but not the specifics for attaching. Called back ... 2 individuals in customer support had no idea. I was told to take a picture of the Fishfinder unit and someone will research this ... WHAT? I THOUGHT YOU WERE SELLING THIS UNIT SPECIFICALLY FOR THE GARMIN STRIKER FF??? Someone in prod development needs to think this through ... this is not a customization. Instructions should be included and referenceable for the customer support staff ... am I wrong?

Ended up calling Garmin, and we reverse engineered the mounting base of the FF over the phone to get a general idea of how the ram mount mounts to the FF. The installation did turn out OK , but jeeze, I really did not sign up for this drama. I get it IF its a customization, but not if it's a manufactured solution for a specific product.

AAAAAH

thanks