ThrowinPlugs

Entering the Lineup...etiquette?

Rate this topic

27 posts in this topic

It may seem kinda common sense or foolish to not know, but entering into a lineup of seasoned guys gives me agita. Normally when I go out to "my" spots, im alone. Theres nobody near me, just me myself and I. Call it luck. Even when going to popular spots, it always seems I'm alone or at most another angler is the way down the beach. Lately however I've noticed more often theres been many more guys, Seasoned guys, who have much more experience than me (not that I'm a newbie, ive been in it for quite a while) and who have developed a rhythm with each other and are obviously "regulars" with eachother. With that being the case, and my goal this year to get out to Montauk more (and other 'big league's areas), where this is prevalent, what exactly is the ettiquite for joining a lineup? Obviously I dont wanna step on toes, or get in the way, or just make an ass of myself. How do you know it's too crowded? What side do you join? What if theres a large gap in the middle, do you make your way in if conditions allow? Help a brother out. I appreciate it.

observe what's going on, which way is the sweep , are they casting in rotation , what are they throwing, if there's a reasonable gap slide in, smile and say hi to the guys on either side of you and get to it!