The Salty Fisherman

Fly Fishing For Weakies

Rate this topic

23 posts in this topic

I have been seeing lots of pictures lately of people catching weakfish with the occasional larger fish in the mix as well.  I am not very experienced in catching weakfish, but figured that it would be an interesting challenge to tackle on the fly...  I'm looking for any advice on where, when, and what to throw.  Thanks for your help in advance.

Salty

I’ve caught them on same flies as striped bass. A very accomplished fly rod guide/mentor showed me a pretty unique fly that he said works wonders. I’ll try to get a pic when I can. Always caught the ones I’ve got at estuaries. I’ve been told marsh areas are good to try to specifically target. 

I was fishing the jetty at Indian River Del some years ago.  There must have fifteen guys crowding the tip throwing white bucktails, swimmers, live bait. It was a circus.   One guy had a white bucktail with a big purple skirt and had a weakie on almost every cast.  Everyone else was skunked.

We had a world class weakfish run in Central NJ in the 90’s. Many big fish around. And many small fish around. My kids fished for them like little kids fish for snappers. Then they were gone.

And yes a fly with pink or yellow is a good choice. A Pink and yellow or pink and chartreuse was a go to.  

Posted (edited) · Report post

I've caught them on flies when I was a much younger fellow, back in the late 70's thru the 90's, at some places along the marshes on the Eastern shore side of the Chesapeake Bay in MD. Back then I had a fiberglass 8 wt. 

They'll take most any fly that a Striper will take, but generally smaller flies, in the 3" to 4" length range are normal. Flies don't have to be complex, in fact one old type was called a Seatrout Special. I think I first saw it in a fly tying book written by Poul Jorgensen back in the 70's.