JALCF

Bucktailing around mung/weed

Rate this topic

25 posts in this topic

Hello all,

It's probably safe to assume I'm new to striper fishing by the title of this post. I wanted to see what your thoughts are about using a bucktail when the veggies are floating.

To give you an idea of the area I'm targeting, I'm fishing a river mouth on the beach as well as a bit up river where the shore allows. I've had most of my success on the slack at the end of the high tide on top water and glide baits. However, any attempt to throw a bucktail will foul up my jig, especially when there is current or I drop too deep. I eventually put the bucktails back in my bag and get discouraged with them.

So what are some of your tips or ideas about jigging around mung and/or seaweed? Do you even bother pulling a jig out under these conditions? Has there been a situation where it has been productive for you?

Thanks,

Joseph

I jig them like normal and when I feel some salad getting caught up, I give my rod a good yank to try to rip the jig through. 

Or I just find another spot to fish.

When the weed is thick like that, you really only get a shot at the fish when the tide slows down before the change. Any other time you jig will be fowled up before it gets to the bottom.

If the bucktails are not working because of mung then switch to something else. Let the conditions dictate what to fish. Also try fishing the buck higher in the water column by with quicker retrieves or lighter bucks. If a place is all munged out i generally move elsewhere. Good luck! 

Swimming a bucktail is like swimming a swim bait just keep going lighter until you can ruffle the weeds and not hang.

Choose a jig with eye at front. I use banana heads. 

During another time we often would secure a thin wire from the eye of the hook to over the barb it helped if you do it right Like a fresh water frog lure to make it weedless

3 mins ago, Angler #1 said: