DeepCastMike

Sandy Hook Today Results

Rate this topic

26 posts in this topic

Hey everyone, so went to sandy hook to surf fish from 5-9am. It was rough water, heavy wind blowing in so casting was rough. Not 1 bite not 1 hit. I felt like i was doing something wrong. I threw poppers, diamond jigs,Needle, Ava's. I even tried the bay side but too much seaweed. Like i said im a newbie and learning. Any suggestions what what i should of thrown out there? Bucktails 3oz? Any advice is appreciated.

From the surf?

Ive never thrown a bucktail from the surf in excess of 2oz. I usually throw 3/4 or 1 oz jetty caster style (see Bullethead bucktails made by Dan the Tinman)

I would have thrown bucktails, shads, topwater (pencils and poppers), SP minnows, mag darters, and TINS/METALS during the day.

I highly suggest that you learn the bait progressions in NJ so you can anticipate the type of bait SHOULD be in the area. THEN, I would go to a local tackle shop and spend a couple of bucks and pick the guys brain about what type of bait is in the area. Try Giglios for that area in moco. THEN I would throw certain plugs that "match the hatch"... Oh bunker? How about I throw metal lips, bucktails, SP minnows, shads... etc.

Good luck. Blues are in the area and you would do well throwing croc spoons.

+1 on Giglio's. The father, Ernie" will talk to you all day. Nice guy.

Swim shads always work well in SH, but if blues are in, they won't last long.

Ava's are good for blues. Also play with your retrieve speed.

2 mins ago, fdhog said:

Swim shads always work well in SH, but if blues are in, they won't last long.

Ava's are good for blues. Also play with your retrieve speed.

how would you retrieve? fast? slow?