Van Staal VR 150 --anyone use this reel bail-less and does it work?

Rate this topic

Rob greenpond

Hi Everyone,

I've been thinking of getting a Van Staal VR 150 and trying it with the bail-less conversion kit.  I have always used bailed reels, but thinking it would be fun to try a bail-less reel. 

I handled this exact reel at a local shop and while I have no experience with a bail-less reel, my common sense tells me there may be a design flaw with this reel.  Specifically, my understanding is that to cast this type of reel, you want the line spool extended outward and the crank handle stopped and extending toward you.  In this arrangement, you can power cast hard without the handle rotating forward through centrifugal force and transposing rotation to the line spool (line pick-up could snag line pouring off of the spool--bad!).  Also with the spool extending outward, it's easier to "catch the line" with your index finger and pull it back onto the pick up roller.

The problem on the VR 150 is that when the spool is extended outward the handle position is "not pointing at the caster" but rather is almost straight upward and can easily move forward on a hard cast and rotate the spool.  Is this a problem?  There's no way that I'm smarter than Van Staal, so what am I missing here...maybe I'm over thinking or just don't have enough experience with bail-less reels.

It would be great if anyone with first hand experience with the Van Staal VR 150 can chime in here---does this specific reel work fine as a bail-less reel or not???  Thinking hard about buying one and it would be nice to know if it's really meant a regular bailed reel.

Thanks to all in advance that reply.

Rob

I don’t own a VR series, and I realize you are asking about the VR series, but below is some background info, which may help you: