KennebecJake

Rio In-Touch Outbound Short Intermediate?

Rate this topic

39 posts in this topic

we love them. I fish both the OBS Tropical Intermediate and the new InTouch OBS intermediate --They are our go to lines used them both in Baja last week 

my go to line also .. other lines I fish with are Wulff TT's of various flavors .. with Rio feel its a line I could cast all day (good match for my rod) and I can chuck some decent sized flies with it

tried it and sold it. I think the SA sonic clear 30 is a much nicer line. I prefer the 30ft clear head, it casts and lands nicer and the running line behaved better on the deck in very hot temps. 

Just my opinion. 

I use it here on the SF bay where is only 2-4 on low tide. And when the tide comes in I use my setup with type 3 line. Overall I like these OBS lines ‘cause they cast very nice with fast action rods.

4 hours ago, Hirdy said:

No Oly, you just got in before me ... :D

Cheers,

Graeme

Given your credentials as an instructor I can only assume it's my inferior casting technique that made the line I lawn cast so appealing to me.  :)

Posted (edited) · Report post

39 mins ago, Mike Oliver said:

Ok but I hate them the mostest. Vendetta type of dislike.

But no doubt a ton of guys love em to bits.

oly

I say this partly in jest - partly.....But lines like Rio OBS Short make intermediate casters with average technique more productive casters.  With a traditional long headed line that intermediate caster was only good to say 60 - 65 feet, with short headed overweight line they are good to quite a bit further...maybe 75 - 80 feet (and with far greater ease).