Rate this topic

27 posts in this topic

I keep losing the dumbbell eyes on my clouser minnows. It is driving me nuts. Not sure if it’s a casting problem or if I’m tying wrong or if I’m using a bad batch of dumbbells but I swear nothing is more frustrating than pulling in a weightless clouser after less than 10 minutes of casting, and then to have it happen again ten minutes later. I am relatively new to shore fishing big rods on the ocean, mostly a 2wt for Brookies kinda angler, and lots of my flies have lasted me 15 years so far... but maybe this is just an aspect of the surf game? Anyone else experience this? How often do you blow through flies? 

image.jpg

If you are using lead eyes, they are likely breaking in half if you are hitting the beach on your backcast.

I always use brass eyes rather then lead.

I also never tie the belly bucktail in over the eyes anymore, as that is where it tends to split.

I tie the bucktail in behind the the eyes.

I use mono thread and super glue and don’t have any issue losing the eyes or having them come off.

You can also tie a piece of flat diamond braid in between the eyes to make them even more secure.

SF

Spirit River Real Eyes are pretty tough. Bears Den sells  them.

I like the small 5/32 size ones the  best. Can buy in a few colours.

Heavy dumbell  Eyes cast badly. Unless you are tying huge bushy Clousers.

Lead Eyes do tend to break. Too much thread tension can see them off.

I second the Real Eyes.  You can find similar generic ones on the auction site, or you can also buy them from Allen Fly Fishing.  I rarely have issues with losing the eyes, unless I hit something with the back cast or a fish tears it apart.  I tie them both ways (tying the belly over the eyes, and tying it behind the eyes).  For tying the bucktail over the eyes, a good amount of figure 8 wraps, along with several wraps behind and in front of the eyes to keep it in place.  Watching some youtube videos may help get you some ideas.