Matt7082

Let's Talk Bass Jigs

78 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

I saw a few folks talking about fishing jigs in the "reports" thread recently. I have been fishing jigs for a few years now, and only this winter/spring have I become more in tune with them, and more confident. I'd pick a fish or two here and there up until now. I am no pro, in fact, FARRRRRR from it! But I'd like to share my experiences, and hear yours as well.

The two most important things I've learned to consider, are the head design, and the rate of fall.

The head design is huge for me. My lakes a covered in pond weed and slimy green algea. No matter what I throw, it gets all gunked up with debris. I've found a couple of head designs to minimize this, which in turn allow me to spend more time fishing than picking crap off my jig. Generally, a grass jig is a narrow shape, with a recessed line tie. Also the old Arkie style head has been working pretty well. Once I figured that out, I have been far more willing to spend time pitching jigs. No hard bottom here, so I don't really have any need for football jigs.

Rate of fall. To me, this is everything. Every single jig bite I've ever had, came on the initial fall, or just a second or two after it settled on bottom. I generally choose RoF based on water temps, which are relative to every body of water. On my lake, 55 and lower, I am trying for the slowest RoF I can get. 56 degrees to about 65, I am looking for a RoF of about 1-1.5ft per second. When the temps get into the 70's and the spawn is complete, I noticed that I get more bites on a heavier jig with fast fall, like 2-3ft per second. I'll try to make small adjustments on the fly which will change the RoF and action by changing the trailer. bigger, bulky trailers will slow the RoF. So will trailers with flapping appendages. Some jigs come with bulky skirts of silicone AND living rubber. These will make a huge difference in slowing the fall as well.