Softbait making

Rate this topic

AKNakn123

I have not melted plastic on an open gas flame but on an electric hot plate. I was a newb and didn’t control the heat and burnt it quickly. I am not saying it can’t be done on a gas range but if you watch the temp carefully with a thermometer too may be ok. I just find the microwave easier. If the plastic is not quite melted just add time by 30 second increments.  Pouring in the house will smell some and make a mess in the kitchen in my opinion.

Good luck happy melting 

Edited by Salt and Fresh
Spelling
"Fishing is a Jerk on one end waiting for a Jerk on the other end" Mark Twain

I don't see why the open flame would not work, however, if you don't have access to a microwave your best bet at melting the soft plastics may be a double boiler type set up.  You could try a small ramiken or dish/bowl resting in a pot with some water.  Heat the pot with water and you will be able to evenly heat the soft plastic without running too much of an risk of burning it.  I am certainly not explaining the double boiler in the best possible way, so it might be worth it to give you tube or google a browse before actually trying it...  Good Luck!

No part of soft plastic bait making should be done anywhere near where you cook your food.

It's basically a bunch of chemicals in plastic bottles that you mix up, heat up, and yes, occasionally burn, so keep it out of the house. Maybe the basement, if you have good ventilation, but the fumes are not friendly at all.

A $50 Walmart microwave and some Pyrex cups will work fine for most of your needs

"Can You Hear Me, Doctor?"

On 4/9/2019 at 10:11 PM, The Salty Fisherman said: